PCI:Introduction to Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards

Gillian 2023-03-21

 transaction volume

What is Level 1 PCI DSS?

PCI DSS Level 1 is the highest level of compliance. This describes any merchant, processing over 6 pci dss certificationmillion Visa transactions per year. This high validation level is only given, at Visa's discretion, should the merchant meet the level 1 requirements set to minimise risk to the system.

How many levels of PCI compliance are there?

four levels

There are four levels, or tiers, of PCI compliance that merchants are organized under based upon their card transaction volume (credit, debit, and prepaid) over a 12-month period. If a merchant suffers a breach that results in account data compromise, they may be escalated to a higher level of compliance.

Who is responsible for PCI compliance?

The PCI Security Standards Council is responsible for developing the PCI DSS. PCI DSS has 12 key requirements, 78 base requirements, and 400 test procedures to ensure that organizations are PCI compliant.

How do I know if my company is PCI DSS compliant?

To determine your PCI DSS level, you'll need to know how many credit card transactions you complete annually. If you're not sure what level your business falls into, your POS reports, as well as reports and analytics from your e-commerce store, may be able to tell you.

Related Hot Topic

What is the pay for a Cissp certification?

The median income for Certified Information Systems Security Professionals (CISSP) in the US is $90,120, with salaries ranging from $51,280 to $143,770. Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) salaries range from $90,120 for the middle 60% to $143,770 for the top 80%.

Do paper records fall under the PCI DSS?

You must abide by PCI DSS criteria 9.5 to 9.8 if you store cardholder data in hard copy or on paper. The safe storage of paper documents, appropriate access control, and the disposal of paper documents when they are no longer required are some examples of these measures.